Sanitation and Recycling Schedule

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

To determine your weekly collection day, find your location on this collection of maps. The day of the week your address appears in is your collection day. The color your address appears in (green or gold) determines the weeks your recycling will be collected based on the recycling schedule.

2022 Holiday Garbage and Recycling Schedule Breakdown

Thanksgiving 2022 (Thursday, Nov. 24)

  • Thursday and Friday garbage collected on Friday, Nov. 25.
  • Thursday and Friday recycling service will be delayed by one day. 

Christmas 2022 (Sunday, Dec. 25)

  • WORK AHEAD DAY. Friday garbage collected on Thursday, Dec. 22. 
  • Monday and Tuesday garbage collected on Tuesday, Dec. 27. 
  • The Transfer Station will close Saturday, Dec. 24. 
  • Monday through Friday normal recycling service. 

2023 Holiday Garbage and Recycling Schedule Breakdown

New Year's Day 2023 (Sunday, Jan. 1)

  • Monday and Tuesday garbage collected on Tuesday, Jan. 3. 
  • No changes to recycling service. 

Presidents' Day 2023 (Monday, Feb. 20)

  • Monday and Tuesday garbage collected on Tuesday, Feb. 21. 
  • No changes to recycling service. 

Memorial Day 2023 (Monday, May 29)

  • Monday and Tuesday garbage collected on Tuesday, May 30. 
  • Recycling service will be delayed by one day all week. 

Independence Day 2023 (Tuesday, July 4)

  • Tuesday and Wednesday Garbage collected on Wednesday, July 6.
  • Recycling service will be delayed by one day all week. 

Labor Day 2023 (Monday, Sept. 4)

  • Monday and Tuesday garbage collected on Tuesday, Sept. 5. 
  • Recycling service will be delayed by one day all week. 

Veterans Day 2023 (Saturday, Nov. 11 - Observed Friday, Nov. 10)

  • WORK AHEAD DAY - Thursday and Friday garbage collected on Thursday, Nov. 9.
  • No changes to recycling service. 

Thanksgiving 2023 (Thursday, Nov. 23)

  • Thursday and Friday garbage collected on Friday, Nov. 24. 
  • Thursday and Friday recycling service will be delayed by one day. 

Christmas 2023 (Monday, Dec. 25)

  • Monday and Tuesday garbage collected on Tuesday, Dec. 26. 
  • The Transfer Station will close Saturday, Dec. 23.
  • Recycling service will be delayed by one day all week. 

New Year's Day 2024 (Monday, Jan. 1)

  • Monday and Tuesday garbage collected on Tuesday, Jan. 2. 
  • No changes to recycling service. 

During holidays, garbage and recycling collection schedules change. Please note, if your collection date falls on a holiday your garbage and recycling collection may be collected on different days.

Observed Holidays with No Garbage Pickup

The City of West Fargo observes the following holidays and will not pick up garbage on these days: 

2022

  • New Year's Day (Saturday, Jan. 1, 2022)
  • President's Day (Monday, Feb. 21, 2022)
  • Memorial Day (Monday, May 30, 2022)
  • Independence Day (Monday, July 4, 2022)
  • Labor Day (Monday, Sept. 5, 2022)
  • Veterans Day (Friday, Nov. 11, 2022)
  • Thanksgiving (Thursday, Nov. 24, 2022)
  • Christmas (Observed Friday, Dec. 23, 2022)
  • New Year's Day (Sunday, Jan. 1 - Observed Monday, Jan. 2, 2023)

2023

  • New Year's Day (Observed Monday, Jan. 2, 2023)
  • President's Day (Monday, Feb. 20, 2023 )
  • Memorial Day (Monday, May 29, 2023 )
  • Independence Day (Tuesday, July 4, 2023 )
  • Labor Day (Monday, Sept. 4, 2023 )
  • Veterans Day (Saturday, Nov. 11, 2023  - Observed Friday, Nov. 10)
  • Thanksgiving (Thursday, Nov. 23, 2023 )
  • Christmas (Monday, Dec. 25, 2023 )
  • New Year's Day (Monday, Jan. 1, 2024)

If the holiday falls Monday through Thursday, the pick up for that holiday will be the following day. If the holiday falls on a Friday, the refuse will be picked up the Thursday before the holiday.


Recycling Collection Holiday Schedule

Waste Management, Inc. observes the following holidays and will not pick up recycling on these days: 

2022

  • New Year's Day (Saturday, Jan. 1, 2022)
  • Memorial Day (Monday, May 30, 2022)
  • Independence Day (Monday, July 4, 2022)
  • Labor Day (Monday, Sept. 5, 2022)
  • Thanksgiving Day (Thursday, Nov. 24, 2022)
  • Christmas Day (Sunday, Dec. 25, 2022) 

2023

  • Memorial Day (Monday, May 29, 2023)
  • Independence Day (Tuesday, July 4, 2023)
  • Labor Day (Monday, Sept. 4, 2023)
  • Thanksgiving (Thursday, Nov. 23, 2023)
  • Christmas (Monday, Dec. 25, 2023)

Recycling will be picked up the day following each holiday. All additional days for that week will also be one day behind. Weeks with a holiday will include a Saturday pick up.